Thursday, January 04, 2007

Curtains? Don't talk about curtains. Are you kidding me? Curtains?

That title is a spin-off of good old Jim Mora when he was asked about the Colts making the playoff after a 4-6 start in 2001. That was Jimmy boys last year with the Colts FYI. Here is the exact transcript of that exchange:

Jim Mora: Let me start out saying this: Do NOT blame that game on the defense, OK? I don't care who you play, whether it's a high school team, a junior college team, a college team, much less an NFL team, when you turn the ball over five times . . . you ain't gonna beat anybody. That was a disgraceful performance. ... We gave it away. We gave them the frigging game. In my opinion, that sucked.
You can't turn it over five times. Holy crap. I don't know who the hell we think we are when we do something like that ... We've thrown [five] interceptions returned for touchdowns. That might be a league record. And we've still got six games left, so there's no telling how many we'll have. I mean, it's absolutely pitiful to play like that . . . Horrible. Just horrible. Horrible.


Playoffs? Don't talk about playoffs. Are you kidding me? Playoffs? I'm just hoping we can win a game, another game.


Well what the heck does that have to do with renovating my house and curtains you may ask? Just as Jim Mora was utterly suprised by be questioned about making the playoff, it is probably how I would have reacted if in 2001 you were to tell me that I would get curtains for Christmas!!!! As you have probably figured out I got curtains for Christmas from Santa. Now I can take down the temporary sheets I was using to cover my windows and now put up the new curtains I got for my front window, the dining room windows, and the study. (Can I still call those sheets temporary if they were up for 3/4 of a year???)


I would have never know what to pick out so here is what my mother and sisters picked out for me:

Dining Room



Front Window


Study



Thanks MOM



I've got gas, excuse me

No I didn't eat Mexican last night but over the holidays I did finish my running the gas black pipe and have ran a line to my stove. I purchased the longest flexible pipe that I could find (60") so I will be able to pull out my stove about 4 feet without having to disconnect it to the gas line. It was sort of tricky to get the gas up to the kitchen since right below the spot I wanted to enter the floor there is an air return duct running between the joist. I had to work the drill at a major angle to get around this but it worked out well.


Here is where the gas enters the kitchen....


Here is a segment of the gas line I ran...


At the same time my father and I also ran the hot and cold water lines for the sink and temporarily installed a utility sink in the kitchen. Once I get my cabinets we will move this sink to the back porch "mud room". We have it set up so that we we run the back porch lines all we have to do is tie into a valves we installed so no lines will have to be drained when we sweat the pipes together.

For the kitchen all I need now is cabinets, I just wish there was a closer Ikea to Indy....oh yeah and I also wish I had $$$ to pay for the cabinets.